Children are generally more successful in foreign language studies than adults. Thus, it is better to learn languages in childhood. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples

For an introduction, childhood is just like wet cement which can be moulded into any form. The task statement notes that succeeding in learning a foreign language is inversely proportional to age, so one should try to become competent in another language in the early years of his/her life. I absolutely believe there is truth in the observation, and as required, this essay will elaborate on the reasons before presenting an appropriate conclusion. Firstly, younger children tend to show higher curiosity in learning new things,unlike elders. Notably, it is so because their brain is in the developing stage. Consequently, they possess remarkable capacity as well as ability for the same. Psychologists have proven that the mind is able to understand and process language -related matters in childhood more than in adult life. To support my statement, I would refer to the survey conducted by Duke University which concluded that 73 per cent of children below 13 years were comfortable studying in a foreign language whereas the figure for those above 35 years is just 36 per cent. Secondly, grown-ups are egoistic. As much as they are ignorant about accepting their mistakes, they are equally concerned about the inferiority complex that will come into play if they have to learn a new skill. For example, an older individual would hesitate to attempt learning new things and would be inhibited from taking on new challenges. Lastly, middle-aged people have enormous responsibilities which prevent them from allocating time for new challenges. Their mind is always engrossed by their to-do list which could be pressing family matters. On the other hand, children are carefree risk-takers who have nothing to lose but have all the time to experiment and achieve results. For illustration, grown-ups have to take care of the house, earn a livelihood and even take care of people who are dependent upon them. To conclude, I believe people in their childhood can improve their language skills by learning foreign languages because they have more time to study instead of older people and having a new language course in school can really help them. Based on the aforesaid discussion, this essay is hereby concluded in support of the prompt in full concurrence with the task statement.