In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Advances in technology and the internet as a whole have revolutionized the way we store knowledge, with most people preferring the internet as a storage of knowledge to books. While this development has brought about many benefits being cost-effective as well as time-saving, I argue that the drawbacks, such as the spread of unauthentic content and distractions are far greater. One advantage of storing information on the internet is that it saves people time. Knowledge seekers no longer have to read books extensively to find what they are looking for, as they can now do it at the press of a button searching for any form of information online. What is even more fascinating is that nowadays, people largely do not need to memorize knowledge, unlike past generations who had to do so decades ago. Moreover, how online platforms do not cost their users much must be acknowledged. Instead of purchasing books, people now can use online platforms that provide educational value, such as YouTube and Reddit, or get help from AI, which has improved by leaps and bounds in recent years. Despite the positives of the internet as a source of knowledge listed above, I am of the view that the negatives outweigh them. Firstly, the internet has already stored a massive amount of information, leading to people struggle with the choice of content they should follow. As a result, it is hard for people to differentiate authentic materials from false information. Another downside of the internet is that there are too many distractions out there online. Constant notifications from viral videos and messages on social networking sites such as Instagram and Telegram tend to easily distract people, thereby reducing individuals' concentration levels In conclusion, although the internet can be seen as an effective knowledge storage method, its impact is largely negative due to the reduction in people's attention spans and the negative effects on overall well-being.