Do Children behave better when they are physically punished or rewarded?

Nowadays, a wide range of children have different behaviors, either in bad  or good ways. Additionally, it's better to reward them if they achieve something than to punish them merely for doing the wrong thing. Personally, I think children behave better when they are rewarded. I feel that way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, many children are perceived as doing exercises in class or studying an extra course. However, it looks hard for the children, so instead of that, their parents decide to give them a physical punishment every time they do not complete any task they ought to finish. For instance, since last June, my cousin has not organized his room and has kept it in total chaos, as long as his mother gives him a physical punishment such as doing 25 push-ups five times. As a consequence, some children in different countries are very mindful and smart for doing their tasks; they deserve as much as high performers are rewarded. For example, most primary and middle schools in China reward their students for achieving good scores in education or sports competitions. To Conclude, the prospect of giving children physical punishment is great if they do not concentrate on their study or training; on the other hand, we also need to reward them if they achieve a good score in school or win a competition.