In theie advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, manufacturers try to emphasize that the merchandise which they produce, has various new features when they advertise it. This trend is rooted in various reasons. Firstly, a vast majority of people prefer modern and novel creatures to the old ones, and the concept of “the new, the better” is popular among them, especially the young ones; hence businesses try to demonstrate their product as a unique and new one to attract more customers. Moreover, when something is new, it has more practical and attractive features than the old one; therefore by emphasizing this factor, they try to convey the meaning that their newly produced good is way better in various aspects to persuade people to buy the product. To illustrate, every September Apple launches its new technological devices with vast advertising strategies and by bolding its new and high-quality functions, based on the recent breakthroughs in the field of technology. In my opinion, this phenomenon is not a beneficial development. Initially, by concentrating on new things rather than keeping old belongings, manufacturers lead society to consumerism and high demand of customers for new things, which can have a dreadful impact on the environment; because we have to vastly exploit the natural resources to meet the high needs of consumers for new products; hence it can lead to natural catastrophes. Additionally, when people purchase a new product by the advertisement’s encouragement, they usually throw away their old belongings, which can result in a huge amount of waste, in an unpredictable way. Either way of recycling or dumping this unpredictable amount of garbage not only is highly costly but also, can have dreadful impacts on the environment. In conclusion, this trend is rooted in the high demand of individuals for multi-featured and new merchandise, and I consider it a highly threatening phenomenon, which can negatively affect nature by leading to consumerism and producing a large amount of garbage.