In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this? What actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Over the past few decades, the increasing number of vehicles, both private and public, has become an issue in many parts of the world, especially in urban areas. In my opinion, there are two key reasons behind this situation, and several solutions could be effective to deal with it. Regarding the causes, it may come from overpopulation and the breakthrough in technology which encourages people to travel more. The very first rationale is about the higher total of inhabitants in many areas around the globe. Indeed, the world population has reached eight billion citizens recently. The more humans, the more vehicles are needed. To satisfy their demand for travelling and commuting, people have a tendency to afford their own transport, such as a car or a motorbike, which allows them to move at their convenience. The growth in the number of vehicles on roads, however, has been responsible for air and noise pollution in metropolises. For example, Dehli, one of the most inhabited megacities, is famous for not only its authentic traditions but also the poorest quality of air which is covered with overwhelming exhaust fumes from private transportation all year round. Another reason that needs consideration is the development of mobile technology. Such achievements make travelling much easier than ever before. Visiting a foreign city is now in hand thanks to the investment in air travel. Nevertheless, this can cause some disruption and annoyance in the local areas where the airports are constructed. The aforementioned issues may be addressed with two possible methods. First of all, there should be a nationwide regulation to control the number of childbirths. Like China, its one-child policy 20 years ago is now efficient to reduce and keep the number of its locals under supervision. Fewer car users have encouraged lower use of transport. Besides, public transport ought to receive more investment. The national budget can be spent to purchase more buses, build more railways and train more staff to meet the growing needs of travellers. When passengers can enjoy their trip in a subway, obviously, not many people desire to buy and maintain a car anymore. In conclusion, overcrowding and new technology are loaded in favour of the transportation on roads. The mentioned ways may be taken into consideration to solve this problem.