•In many places, prisons are overcrowded and expensive for governments to maintain. Yet, when offenders are released, they end up back in prison a short while later. Do prisons work? Should law-breakers be rehabilitated or punished?

A debate about the effectiveness of approaches to prisoners either imprisonment or rehabilitation has been prevalent in society. While the budget and high rates of turnover among criminals cast some doubt on the sending-offenders-to- prison method, it still partly plays an essential role in the legal system. This essay will prove why rehabilitation with appropriate punishment is the best way to tackle this issue. Sending criminals to prison will raise awareness of their desire for freedom and return to society. While living in prison, criminals might feel isolated from the rest of the world, and the fear of being separated from their loved ones fosters their effort to return to the community. Thus, this would help them avoid committing crimes and contribute dramatically to social events and other charity work. For example, many prisons established industries such as manufacturing goods or clothes where prisoners can work voluntarily, which donates to someone in need. However, if the long-term imprisonment continues, prisoners might lack social skills and lifelong learning experiences, which could exacerbate their chances of engaging in a sense of community. On the other hand, rehabilitation focuses purely on addressing the root causes and provides offenders with the necessary academic or soft skills. For instance, there are several rehabilitating programs such as education, vocational training, and even university online courses that supply healthier coping mechanisms for the problems and support abuse treatment in which offenders live a normal life without any guilt. Owing to this reason, it is more cost-effective compared to a bunch of investments in different aspects of a prison, such as living spaces, food supplies, and medicines for illness. Therefore, it is clear that having criminals rehabilitated will never be replaced by the means of ending up in long-term prison sentences. To summarize, while sending lawbreakers to prison is an efficient approach to the intensity of the crime causing harm to society, it also has some limitations and potential negative impacts. Rehabilitation with suitable punishments would be among the most well-qualified methods to handle the underlying causes of the issue.