Some people find advertisements amusing or annoying and they are not influenced by this when they shop. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising and its influences have long been a topic of numerous debates, especially in recent years. In this regard, some people argue that the impact of advertisements on shoppers is neglectable. However, in contrast, the majority number of people including me hold the view that advertisements could channel the shoppers' choices in an effective way. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will support this point of view with likely explanations. To begin with, it is widely accepted that the modern human is leading a consumerism lifestyle due to indulging in social media platforms and being bombarded with commercials offering an excessive range of products. This means that huge enterprises meticulously target individuals, particularly younger consumers, with impressive adverts on social media platforms such as Instagram and Telegram. As a result, this level of omnipresence of new products with gimmick options makes it inevitable for young people who spend most of their time surfing the internet. The latest statistics in the UK, for instance, have demonstrated that nearly 60% of people who spend a certain time on the internet buy at least one or two items every month under the direct influence of online advertisements. Furthermore, the fact advertisements could be functional in terms of making customers aware of various features, options and models of available products in the market. Thanks to the informative form of adverts, people have an opportunity to compare different items they need in terms of prices and features to make the best decision, which would have not been possible otherwise. This trend is quite beneficial for both individuals and companies as it increases sale figures and boost the economy in society. Apart from that, driven by advertisements, the time devoted to shopping sprees has diminished substantially due to the fact that before attending the malls or shops people exactly know which items and brands they want to purchase. For example, when I have to buy a mobile phone I do not waste my time in the shop since, thanks to the adverts and pops on the Internet, I am already familiar with the exact features, costs and quality of every available smartphone in the market which makes the process of buying in the shop significantly lower. To sum up, despite the fact that a minority group of people do not trust adverts anyway, in my opinion, most people, especially younger ones are affected by advertisements since not only it could enhance their knowledge about different goods but also can stimulate demand and interest to newly produced items.