For many, shopping malls are great places to spend their leisure time and meet others. People, however, in the past mostly visited those when necessary. To what extent do you think this is a negative trend?

People have different views on whether it's beneficial that more residents go to supermarkets to entertain themselves and have a date with friends or not. While there are so many drawbacks to this behaviour, I think the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, it would have detrimental impacts that many citizens are crowded in supermarkets. To begin with, people who love to go to big shops would allocate less time to enhance their abilities and they may lack various skills in this ever-changing and competitive society. Furthermore, the residents would spend fewer hours engaging in the community and decrease the cohesion in the community. Lastly, it would exert greater pressure on society. For example, with so many people going out, the transportation system would be busy and their workers may be overloaded. On the other hand, going to the malls would benefit us a lot. Firstly, making acquaintance with some friends may prompt their development due to the fact that it enables people to expand their social circle and cultivates the capacity for conversation. Secondly, it would facilitate the growth of the economy,in consequence of the fact that growing numbers of people are willing to purchase merchants in the shops. Thirdly,with so many consumers choosing to entertain themselves in the supermarket, more job opportunities are offered. For instance, the number of guards would be larger to ensure the safety of those citizens who spend time in malls. In conclusion, I understand why people worry about the phenomenon of spending more in shops.But I would argue that the advantages tip the balance.