Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. how true do you think this statement is? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars

A generation ago, people were met with revolutionary inventions that completely changed the way of transportation. However, time flies and nowadays the Earth has become a huge traffic jam. This essay will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions. One of the main causes of the problem is overpopulation. The number of car owners is growing fast with every day. For example, I believe that in Kazakhstan almost every family has more than one car. The solution is to set strict regulations on the number of cars that can be bought by one family in order to overcome consumerism. Another reason is that these days car supports the prestige of their owners. It’s no longer just a vehicle, it’s rather a way to show how cool the driver is. To tackle this issue, the government should become a main trendsetter of a healthy lifestyle in order to make citizens enthusiastic about being sporty. To sum up, owning a car resulted in decreased necessity of walking and cycling. This is a serious problem, and unless we set proper rules and promote another type of transport. My opinion is that the main responsibility lies between citizens and government representatives.