Television had become the most popular form of entertainment for children these days and has led to damaging consequences for their health. Why is this the case now? What can parents do to take children away from watching so much television?

Children all over the world are now addicted to watching television and paediatricians worry that it can have a negative impact on their health. In this essay, I will be delving into some of the possible causes and also suggesting the probable solutions to them. I believe one of the major causes of this issue is due to poor parenting skills. Parents nowadays are not as strict as they used to be and for this reason children adopt ugly behaviours, and instil naughty and harmful behaviours. The solution to this problem is to implement older parenting techniques that implement harsher punishments so that children cannot have their way and bring about smarter children. Another possible cause is that we live in a digital age, a world where we cannot function without looking at screens all the time, which is also evident in daycare centres, thus we’re enforcing such problematic behaviour. It is the government’s responsibility to work with daycare centres to split between screen use and traditional methods such as reading physical textbooks, as well as, teachers should encourage outdoor activities as much as possible as this can be beneficial for them in their upbringing as well. To conclude, new-age parents do not know how to discipline their children at home and screen time has drastically increased at preschool such that the children end up spending a lot of time in front of the television. Thus, this has led to many children having a lot of negative health issues in the future. The possible solution to this problem is modern parents should be able to discipline children well in order to promote good behaviours in them, as well as, the government body and kindergarten should join hands together and come up with a balanced / healthy school program to enrich the next generation.