These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Disscuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in foreign country. Give reason from for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Working and studying overseas has become a popular option for those who want to level up their career or education. More often than not, this opportunity is inextricably linked with the chance to elevate someone’s life quality because of the higher salary and better environment. Even though moving abroad comes with a series of challenges, I firmly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, there is more diversity in the information that we receive while learning in an unfamiliar setting. For example, in my field of bamboo construction alone, there are ample amount of techniques used in several countries. This knowledge can be collected by visiting different territories and doing it by practice. Nonetheless, the learning process might be hampered by a language barrier. Looking at how easily we can study foreign languages nowadays, however, this issue is not something that cannot be tackled. Secondly, by seeking opportunities in foreign countries, we are simultaneously gaining life lessons that are not written in the book. Certain customs and mastery are unique when seen from various cultural tapestries. For instance, upon studying in Indonesia, some understood that the people are less individualistic if compared to European citizens. This is a valuable trait that can be practised when they are back in their home country. To conclude, more experience living in different nations gives us a better bird eye’s view of the world. Although the difficulty of adapting to a new setting can’t be ignored, the knowledge we got in return tips the balance in favour of moving abroad.