In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

Today, in numerous regions around the world, there exists a lucrative demand for items designed to enhance or brighten individuals' skin tone. In this essay, I will explain why they like to use these things and discuss the consequences for health and society. The desire for whiter skin is mainly influenced by cultural and social factors. In this case, the media plays a substantial role in constructing the culture that white skin is the ideal of beauty and the symbol of confidence. Furthermore, skincare companies use this propaganda to promote their whitening products aggressively. In the era of social media, celebrities and influencers endorse many cosmetic brands. As a result, these conditions are attracting and encouraging women to use skincare with the hope that they can become as beautiful as celebrities. Sometimes, people’s desire to look beautiful is not followed by proper knowledge. Many of them are brave enough to try illegal and cheap beauty stuff that potentially has negative effects on their health. These items may contain harmful chemicals like hydroquinone and mercury which can lead to inflammation, allergies, and even long-term risks. On the other hand, the beauty standard propaganda that has been boosted by the media potentially triggers social discrimination against people with dark skin. This also can cause insecurity and identity crises for them. In conclusion, the demand for skin -lightening products is mainly affected by cultural and media influences, and their use has the potential to have negative impacts on both health and society. So, it is important to raise awareness, implement regulations, and work toward embracing diversity and inclusivity in various communities to address this issue comprehensively.