Some people believe that school holidays should be longer to give students more time to relax and enjoy their free time. Others argue that shorter holidays are necessary to maintain a strong focus on academic studies. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In places all over the world students are having extended summer holidays. I believe that these holidays are having a positive impact on the academic life of students. The long vacations cause the learning period to be shorter therefore more condensed therefore more stressful. But in fact stress is proven to increase the working capacity of students thus increasing their chance of success in their important exams. A student will always be much more satisfied from working hard, getting good results and having long and relaxing holidays than by being less productive throughout the term thus getting bad grades or failing and then having short holidays and having to retake classes in order to maybe have a better grade on their exam. Secondly, longer holidays are very important for international students that may live very far away from where they study. Allowing them to take longer holidays is very beneficial for them as they will be able to go back to their home country in order to see their family or their friends. This is very important for the mental health of the students. Not seeing their family for an extended period of time may cause depression or all other sorts of mental health issues to the students. This added to the potential bad grades will certainly put any students in a terrible state of mind. Overall, in my opinion, extended holidays wouldn’t solve various problems for students while shortening their holidays would cause many problems. As cited in the above. Beyond the grades, the mental health of the students is extremely important and should be preserved.