Write about the following topic: Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's society, many would argue that the high sale of popular products instead of the necessary ones shows to what extent advertisements are effective. I completely agree with this opinion and in fact, I believe this matter should be discussed more. Advertisement companies use many tricks but one of the most effective tricks they have is social engineering. Also with the developments being made in cognitive science, cognitive advertisement has been one of the most interesting research areas in the past couple of years. So, it is helpful to be aware of the variety of tricks they use in their commercials. Firstly, the knowledge of how people act in a society when it comes to managing their money, has proven to be precious. Advertisement corporations tend to hire people with high intelligence and marketing skills. And when these smart people come together, they can make you buy things you were not aware of their existence. For instance, we have all had the experience when we walked into a store to buy the usual products we needed and suddenly, we felt that we wanted to try out a new product. Indeed, that product is what these commercials programmed us to choose over what we needed to buy. Thus, as much as we claim to decide for ourselves, there is always a big chance we are doing what we've been told to do by the commercials through their valuable social engineering skills. Secondly, with the emergence of a new science called cognitive science, marketing companies have been trying to incorporate it into their practices. Cognitive science deals with the processes going on in our brains in order to complete a cognitive task. Moreover, financial decision-making is one of the cognitive tasks that has been under research for many years and indeed, there has been some progress. For instance, they studied the effect of grief, also a cognitive process, on financial decision-making that proved people tend to buy goods to forget about their grief. Hence the effective advertisement we see in the funerals. To conclude, adverts we see every day on television, billboards and walls, are more successful than we think in order to get us to buy the products we don't need. Tricks such as social engineering and financial cognition are now among the most effective tools they have in order to manipulate us. So, we need to pay more attention to the chain of thoughts behind every financial decision we make to decrease the degree to which we are being fooled.