The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

On the British road, the first car was seen in the year 1888. Then, the car numbers increased year after year till 2000, it reached 29 million vehicles. Some people and I think that other ways for transportation should be replaced it and there should be an international law for controlling buying cars and using them. This essay explores the alternative ways of transport and how ownership of a car can controlled by global laws. Personally, I completely agree with this notion as I will explain below. First of all, the increasing number of vehicles brings several transport problems for citizens, such as we can not reach work earlier and it makes traffic. For this reason, I prefer to use public transport and bicycles instead of own cars. On the other hand, the number of people is increasing day by day, and we have only one earth to live on. We have to protect the earth’s environment for future generations. Cars produce several toxic compounds in the environment and it reduces the ozone layer. Therefore, the ownership of cars and using it should be restricted by putting an international law in order to bring safety for all. To sum up, it is clear that the increasing number of cars brings some transport problems such as traffic, and also environmental issues such as producing toxic compounds, therefore, it should be replaced by a new alternative one and controlled by global laws.