Some people believe that one of the best ways to solve environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We always hear the problem that our planet is facing global warming and climate change. Some argue that a major solution to this is to increase the cost of fuel in transportation. I highly disagree that this is the best solution. This essay will discuss in detail the reasons why. Nowadays, more and more cars are being produced by various companies. Moreover, due to cars becoming more affordable to the public, it leads to the increase of noise and air pollution. Firstly, a good solution is for the government to increase the tax on the car. Like for instance, in Singapore aspiring car owners need to bid for a Certificate of Entitlement to own a car. Also, owners need to surrender their cars after 10 years not unless they decide to renew their COE. Furthermore, the government limits the number of cars that run on the road to combat heavy traffic and pollution. Secondly, the government should build more sustainable-land transport hubs by expanding the availability of EV charging stations. In addition, having a bike lane may also encourage people to have their bicycles when going to work. On the other hand, while increasing the fee for fuels may sound to be a good solution it will cause our normal citizens to suffer due to its domino effects such as increase in transport fees, price of goods that are being transported from other regions and so much more. To conclude, increasing the fuel rate might help in decreasing the ever-worsening pollution,, however there is much more effective ways to solve this dilemma like COE in Singapore, accessible transportation for the citizens and building more bike lanes.