Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Nowadays, crime is a serious problem in our society. Some individuals believe that the best approach to decrease the number of crimes is to extend the period of imprisonment. On the other hand, the others are of the option that other strategies can work better. Prolonging the jail sentence causes people to be afraid of losing their freedom for a long time even on a small illegal act. For example, a person who stole a watch would cause him to be sent to prison for five years. This longer sentencing would make them consider twice before they did it. Despite that, this could only be effective on a particular group of people but not all of them. The reason is that lengthy punishment does not deal with the cause of crime. Most criminals commit crimes because they have financial problems and cannot support their families. Hence, they will do it again after the sentence since they still face the same problem of shortage of money. Therefore, education is a better way to solve this issue. Our community should be well-educated since they are young. They would be equipped with knowledge, skills and moral values. Thus, they can get a good job with a high income to sustain their families. For instance, a dentist earns a lot of money in a year and allows them to enjoy a high standard of living without stealing or robbing others. Besides that, moral lessons would allow an individual to differentiate between lawful and unlawful actions and what should be avoided. In conclusion, it is evident that a longer jail sentence is not the best approach to reducing crime. Some other measures should be considered and take action to address this problem.