Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that nowadays subjects like Science and Technology should be prior to other school subjects such as history, while others disagree with this statement. As far as I am concerned all subjects should be treated the same by the educational systems due to the reasons which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, the importance of Technology and Science is no longer a mystery to anyone and this is caused by the high demands of society. however, the importance of these areas can be exaggerated by the modern world so the young generation can be falsely influenced. For example, according to a survey by the University of Oxford 85% of college students claim that they cannot decide which classes to choose without using Google search. On the other hand, lessons of history contribute to more engagement in some students and this can elevate their sense of curiosity in the field. On the grounds that different people are interested in a variety of fields the existence of numerous lessons during adolescence is vital in order to have a fair educational system. For instance, there are many people who still major in arts or archaeology at university and this shows that these majors should not be ignored by schools or teachers. From my perspective, the most important factor of an educational system is being fair and less biased so that these youngsters can make a choice by their own desires and their own characteristics. To sum up, many people may think that cutting edge subjects should be more important in comparison to lessons like history, nonetheless, in my opinion favouring a specific area by the school system can contribute to a lack of attention to some students so it should be eliminated.