In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems at a result of eating too much fast food. It is there for necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

Eating too much fast food does lead to health problems however, in an attempt to discourage people from eating those foods, increasing taxes on such items does not seem to be the right way. If government increases taxes on products that are harmful for the people I believe people will not accept it. Most daily use products, not only food, harms people in one way or another. If taxes are imposed on fast food, someday it would become a luxurious food that average person would not be able to afford. I believe humans learn from their mistakes. When a person faces, for example, health issues that person himself starts avoiding fast food and takes steps towards a healthier diet. Despite this, I also believe people after some time return to old habits. In my opinion, the proper way would be to spread awareness and constantly remind people, and that too not in the same manner for an extended period of time. Spread awareness, just like on cigarette boxes, by showing people the consequences but, after a long spell the method should be changed as it starts getting ignored. Furthermore, good health should be promoted through events for example, giving people rewards for fitness or discounts on stores according to how they perform in an activity. It could be push ups, running or weight lifting. Additionally, health should also be promoted through promotional events such as free medical tests to spread awareness. In addition to the tests, children should be taught about health in school, either by teachers or by staff from a hospital. This is because, I have seen that children who learn something and grow up acting on it, such as traffic rules, teach others as well. To sum up, I do not agree with raise of taxes being a solution to a problem even if it is for the betterment of the public, it should be done through spreading awareness.