Some people think multiple choice tests are better than tests which require you to write an essay. Other people think that tests which require you to write an essay are better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The exam types effect the performance of students in many ways. Therefore examIing patterns have been a reason for argument among people for many years. It is often argued that exam contains only multiple-choice questioning while other believe essay-type questioning should be in the exam. This essay agrees that both multiple and essay type question must be part of a test. The multiple types of questionnaire is always considered the easiest way of any test. The reason is that it is not only tricky for students but also provides a hint to them to some extent. This is the best way through which teacher can cover most parts of their syllabus during a term. For instance, the IPS test that is taken in India is always multiple that covers all basic knowledge about Indian weather, society, economy, history and many other contents. Last but not least, the checking of such kinds of exam papers become very easy as long essays require a lot of human attention, while MCQ can be checked through computers. Ultimately, this leads to quick results and less time-consuming. However, some people agreed that having described questions in the exam will be beneficial to test the pupils knowledge throughout. A long answer to a question would reveal that students actually understand about a particular topic. In the long run, having a described knowledge will come in handy in teaching, research projects and many more. Despite this, there is some fields such as medicine, and accounting where testing students knowledge about the different processes explained is necessary. In Conclusion, although both types of test patterns come with their own merits, I believe that the best exam contains long essay-type questions along with a section of MCQ.