Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Recently many people have decided to be freelancers rather than to struggle for an institution or industry. This essay will try to identify the factors contributing to this and also explain some drawbacks that may emerge from this. Folks choose to be self-employed because performance as civil servants and private employees is hard to accomplish. The increasing job competition and the industry environment which are small are made many graduates from universities can not obtain any occupations. Instead of expecting occupation from a company, why do people not endeavour to work for themselves? Apart from that, entrepreneurs can manage their time freely and not engage with the boss’s instruction. For instance, a woman who was not accepted to become an employee either in Deloitte Company or PWC Company selects to open her own bakery shop in Indonesia. Although she felt miserable at first, it turned out to be happiness because she could reach another goal which was providing tasks to others. There are two disadvantages of being independent workers. First and foremost, having uncertain work hours. At a time when elders have slept at night, transactors often still work in order to achieve their daily targets. Therefore, they can have discussions with other labourers. Secondly, unstable incomes which they earned. The salary of a businessman depends on the situation and times. For instance, garment trades usually earn more money when commemorating big religious days rather than usual days. In conclusion, taking a job as an entrepreneur is the popular choice nowadays compared with duty in an office. The reason why the public becomes self-workers is to manage time conducive and regardless of orders from superiors. Two weaknesses of being self-employed are possessing erratic work hours and earning labile salaries.