Traffic jam is a problem in many towns and cities. People believe that this can be done by making roads wider. Do you agree or disagree?

Some cities and towns suffer from severe traffic jam, which can greatly affect people's daily lives and eventually leads to a country's economic issues. To address this issue, some people argue that by widening the roads, the traffic issue can be alleviated. Although the proposal can somehow mitigate the traffic, I believe that there are alternative ways to achieve this goal. On the one hand, I agree that the idea of broadening the roads comes with the advantage of better accommodation of vehicles. Namely, roads can encompass an increased amount of vehicles simply by being widened. Take the city of Taipei as an example, roads that connect downtown Taipei to the suburbs are primarily composed of only single or two-lane roads. To be more precise, this arrangement resulted in heavy traffic and blocked roads during rush hours, making citizens spend a great proportion of time on daily commuting. If the issue can be tackled by extending more lanes, I believe that this severe traffic issue can be significantly improved. On the other hand, traffic issues can be minimized by two proposals if we look into the real questions behind this matter. Firstly, an increasing amounts of people nowadays own more than one vehicle, contributing to overcrowded road-using conditions. Second, some places lack a thorough public transportation, making individuals unlikely to travel without driving cars. And if the government can set certain regulations on car ownership, as well as improve fundamental transport infrastructure, the problem of traffic congestion can certainly be well-enhanced. For instance, the city of Tokyo embraces a comprehensive public transport system, which enables city dwellers to travel to destinations in various options, making roads smoother. In conclusion, making roads wider can alleviate traffic congestion in certain places, however, I believe that traffic problems cannot be resolved if the matter of increasing car ownership and imperfect transport infrastructure are ignored.