Some people believe that schools should only teach children’s subjects which are beneficial to their future career and therefore other subjects such as music and sports are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this modern world, education is an important aspect of being successful in life. It is argued by many that schools should emphasize more subjects which are helpful to make a successful profession in the life of learner and some extracurricular activities like music and sports should not be given much time and importance. I disagree with this point of view because the choice of career in a particular field depends upon the interest of the child. To start with, no doubt, schools should teach major courses in class to provide them with a deep knowledge of the field but subjects like art, music, and sports should not be avoided because some students can have an interest in these fields and after gaining an understanding of these areas they might be able to build a lucrative future career. In addition, there are many people who are in music and sports, and they are famous internationally for their expertise in these fields. For instance, Sachin Tendulkar, A well-known cricketer from India has made many records in many cricket matches and this all happened because he was persuaded by the profession he was interested in. Another worth considering factor in putting more attention towards extracurricular studies is to entertain students because children may feel bored sitting in the same class and studying continuously. Therefore change is a must. Moreover, adding some activities like art and games will allow the children to have some time to relax and learn new things which will also result in refreshing their minds and they will be able to better concentrate on other subjects. On the other hand, it is also necessary to teach compulsory courses in school to develop an understanding of all areas of study. Even if kids do not want to make an occupation in these fields having basic knowledge of all courses is crucial. To conclude, I believe that to emerge the best out of a child and to make learning entertaining and enjoyable, attention to extracurricular activities is significant rather than just focusing on major areas of study.