Cybercrime has become a serious problem in the modern world, affecting millions of people and businesses yearly. Why is this and what can be done to prevent or reduce this problem

In the recent decades, cybercrime has grown into importance to the public and entrepreneurs due to the rapid development of the Internet. Although there will be undoubtedly negative influences of this phenomenon, societies can take some measures accordingly to deter this issue. With the global widespread adoption of the Internet, several related problems can be anticipated. One of the compelling reasons is that online users overlook the importance of keeping their personal virtual identities when accessing different browsers. Taking online purchases as an example, online shoppers are willing to provide their credit card details to the website without concern or hesitation about whether or not their information is guaranteed to be kept confidential. Furthermore, the low quality of system security displayed by organizations leads to the potentiality of identity stolen, privacy violated and committing fraud. There are several actions that could be taken into consideration to tackle the concerns given above. Firstly, governments should raise the awareness of citizens regarding the seriousness of online criminals as they might get an attack on personal information at any time. In other words, it is essential for each individual to carefully consider the actions of giving out their confidentiality in a virtual setting. Additionally, law enforcement should be expanded to monitor and protect computer networks and its users, including imposing regulations for businesses in terms of using customer databases for any commercial purposes, such as email marketing and telesales. As a result, the organizations should enhance the quality of their security system to ensure the privacy of users accessing their website in order to prevent consequences of stealing data or scamming. In conclusion, various measures could be considered to solve the certain problems related to a rise of cybercrime as the use of the internet is such an instrument to further illegal ends.