Write about the following topic: Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

There are differing views on the aim for university tuition. Whilst one group believes the objective for this level of education is to make graduates suitable for the job market, others argue the purpose is for the broader benefit of individuals and the society as a whole. This essay seeks to look at both sides of the matter. My opinion is that tertiary training serves all the purposes stated. To begin with, I can understand the thought that states that attaining a tertiary school certificate enhances one's chances of acquiring a better job. This is somewhat true. Some people pursue university studies to equip them for better professions. To clearly illustrate this, a number of white color jobs such as being a medical doctor, lawyer or engineer are reserved for persons who have completed university training and have certificates for these. It is obvious from this that some careers are only reserved for personnel who have completed university education. Therefore, for persons to become medical doctors for example, it is only logical for them to train in a university to enable them realise their dreams. On the other hand however, university education grooms people to make them fit better in society and live a normal adult life. Taking myself for example, I learnt to be independent during my university days as I learnt to cook and keep my space clean. These stem from living away from family and having to take up certain responsibilities to live well which I would otherwise not have if not for that opportunity. Also, Sir Williams' survey of working adults showed that individuals had improved interpersonal relationships from having to share hostels with others at the university. They are said to have developed ways to cope with others from different backgrounds. These experiences has made it easier for them to fit anywhere when it comes to relating with others at church, work, personal relationships but to mention a few. The above stated reasons garners the added benefits of university schooling. To sum up, it is evident that, there are individual and societal gains from tertiary training that goes beyond better job acquisition and I strongly agree with these.