Write about the following topic: The crime rate among teenagers has increased dramatically in many countries. Discuss some possible reasons for this increase and suggest solutions. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

There has been a rise in teenage social vices in various nations. This essay seeks to state some reasons for this and provide tentative solutions to deal with the problem at hand. Firstly, busy parental working lifestyle is the major factor that promotes teenage crime. Parents limit caring for their children to provision of their needs and tend to spend less time with them to know their attitudes harnessing from the long working schedules they have. Sir Albert Rov's research on why children who receive all the material things they require end up as social vices revealed they reporting lack of parental nurturing. Secondly, peer pressure is another perpetuating factor. A proven fact shows that adolescents are likely to copy behaviours of their friends compared to adults. To illustrate this, I recall my senior from junior high ended up as an armed robber because he learnt the robbery habit from some friends who lived lavish lifestyles that caught his eye and was pleasing to him. Finally, exposure to violent scenes on our screens poises a danger for children to want to act out what they have learnt from these. For example, when the pupil who was involved in the Techiman school shooting was interrogated as to why he did pulled the trigger, he said it was as a result of some movies he had seen severally and thought it was wise to act on it. These reasons are obviously remediable. Despite the above problems, the following are some proposed solutions to combat such a situation. To begin with, partners hoping to procreate should be given education on parenting. This can be via the media on radio and television sets as well as during marriage counseling. They should be made aware nurturing children is key to the development of a nation. Also, caretakers should be more involved in the lives of the youth. Teachers and parents should question the type of associations or companies their children keep and advise them appropriately if they sense any doom. Lastly, media houses should clearly label the screen contents as children or adult programs and a scrutiny measure should be made available before accessing various programs that are showcased. All these will go a long way to salvage the rise in crime among teenagers.