Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages

It is common knowledge that additives added to food during the production and preservation has some benefits and drawbacks. I am of the opinion the advantages surpasses the disadvantages. To begin with, there are several gains to the use of chemicals in food processing. Firstly, prolonged shelf life. This makes the product stay longer than a fresh product will ordinarily. It is seen as gain only to the manufacturer but I think it's also beneficial to the customers. Processed foods saves the time of the consumer. This is because they make cooking easier by eliminating the hours one has to spend in handling fresh ingredients for meal preparation. Some of the meals can be readily consumed when opened as they have already been prepared in edible forms. Lastly, the durable nature of such products saves some cost to the patronisers because it promotes bulk buying. Bulk buying is proven by studies as a means to save some money. It is an experience I have had. Obviously, these advantages suits the busy lifestyle of the current working population in the world. Meanwhile, there is a perception about people developing cancer from eating meals with preservatives. This fact is anecdotal as there no scientific barking. Sir William Appiah has issued a paper to refute such unreliable statements as according to him, if it were true the majority of us would have come down with some form of cancer as it is estimated the majority of the world's population consumes processed foods. It is clear we cannot rely on such unproven allegations. To sum up, it is evident there are more advantages to using chemicals in food processing than disadvantages.