Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for qualifications. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While it is often thought that students who are doing their tertiary education are interested in acquiring other subjects apart from their major, other people believe that they should focus on the areas that are offered for their concentration. In my opinion, I consider that it is essential for undergraduates to pay attention to the subjects that are offered based on their major because it will be helpful in the future. On the one hand, according to some, students ought to learn subjects in addition to their major. One reason is that it can give them the opportunity to master new skills which can be helpful for them in the future, especially if they cannot get a job based on their qualification. For example, students who major in English might not always get their dream job as a teacher, and in this case, if they have studied some basic accounting, they can use this skill to apply for other jobs related to this. On the other hand, some people think that students must focus on their major, and I agree. This is because when they study everything related to their course, they will be an expert in it. Thus, this will give them the confidence to do the job that they are assigned. For instance, IT graduates will be able to deal with issues related to computer systems easily if they have covered subjects related to this field, but if they study history as an additional subject, this will undoubtedly be a waste because they will not use it. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that students ought to focus on the subjects which are connected to their major. If all universities offer the same courses for students based on their major, they would not face any confusion.