Some people believe that plastic shopping bags damage the environment and their use should be prohibited. Other people insist that consumers should have the right to choose whether they want to use a plastic bag or not. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There have been long controversies about the detrimental impacts of plastic bags on the environment and people have a multitude of views about whether their use should be banned. Although there are good arguments in favor of following the will of customers on the use of plastic bags, I personally believe that they should be forbiddened in order to be more environmentally friendly. Of all the benefits why allowing consumers to choose plastic bags or not, the most prominent one is that it can be convenient. Citizens may sometimes want to buy goods ad hoc and providing this option will be favorable to those unplanned buyers. For example residents may want buy some daily necessities when they are wandering on the street and no bags are with them at that time, having this choice is always friendly to incomers. People can also bring their own bags to shopping to reduce plastic waste, reaping the environmental benefits. Despite the aforementioned reasons why options should be given, I believe that they should be prohibited. One foremost reason is that this can reduce the reliability on plastic bags and change the habits of citizens to benefit the Earth. The only option for buyers is to bring their own containers and this can change their mindset to eradicate plastic carriers. Given that plastic bag is non-biodegradable, it takes millions of years to completely break down one and this poses huge threats on the ocean lifes. Eliminating their uses can reduce further harm to the habitats and allows our future generation to enjoy the biodiversity on the planet. Under this line of thinking, although giving a plastic option is beneficial, completely banning them is more favorable in the future. It is hoped that no more plastic items can be seen in the ocean.