Tourism is an ever-growing industry. What benefits do you think tourism brings to individuals and society?

Under globalization, people travel around the world more frequently and the tourism industry is flourishing, bring about a myriad of advantages to both individuals and society. Among the benefits that tourism brings to individuals, probably the most significant one is that individuals can broaden their horizons. As foreign cultures can be diametrically opposed to culture at our hometowns, our horizons will be broadened and our mind will be opened. We could learn how to appreciate and embrace different cultures instead of being stubborn and insist that our own culture is the best. Another benefit that we should not overlook is that tourists can have a taste of foreign cultures even when they are on a short trip, such as joining workshops to make handicrafts with traditional techniques in foreign countries, participating in special festivals, following customs in foreign countries and trying traditional foreign cuisines. Although these experiences may not help them thoroughly understand about foreign cultures, they may trigger our interest in exploring them more comprehensively when we are back to our home country. Not only does tourism benefit individuals, but it also contributes to society. Tourism is without a doubt beneficial to the destination country’s economy as it increases the export of services, thus the gross domestic product. It helps boost business in related industries, ranging from retailing, infrastructure and transportation to accommodation. It will help bring about more employment opportunities, as talents are needed when the country develops new tourist spots. The demand for employees in the service industry, such as hotel management and business marketing will also be boosted. Another advantage is that tourism can help raise funds for preserving cultural heritage. Tourism is a strong financial incentive for the government to financially support the maintenance of archaeological sites as these are the main tourist attractions. It will be less likely for the government to demolish cultural buildings and sites for urban renewal projects as these tourist spots can bring income to the country. The government could make use of the money generated from these industries to preserve its culture, making sure to maintain the landscape in order to keep it attractive for tourists. Under this line of thinking, a thriving tourism industry can lead to a lot of advantages to both individuals and society and it is believed that this trend is going to continue in the future.