Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued whether higher educational qualification makes a person more successful or one's more engagement in paid work straight after school is more beneficial. I am going to examine this question from both viewpoints alongside providing my opinion. On the one hand, the option to start work after school is more attractive, because people can start earning money. In this way, they can become financially independent and support their family as well. This may also help them to acquire skills about how to manage expenses or budget, which they can implement further in their life or business. One good illustration of this is a successful businessman named Ratan Tata, the owner of Ambuja Cement Company, who chose to work just after school education and became one of the richest persons in the world by applying his knowledge, skills and real-life experiences to the business. Thus, this example vividly demonstrates that getting higher degrees is not necessarily needed for a successful career. On the other hand, few individuals have the opposite opinion because they may believe that attaining academic qualifications offers better options. There are some professions that cannot be joined without a relevant degree such as doctor, engineer, lawyer, and many more, as all these occupations demand academic qualification with intense training and practice, but also offer lucrative salary packages and more financial stability. Moreover, people can easily switch their careers at any point in their life. When they feel monotonous after working in one field for a long time, they can enter in new jobs as compared to those, who dropped the idea of attending university or college. In conclusion, it seems to me that for having successful career, one may not need any academic qualification, as it is just a piece of paper that cannot decide someone's future.