4.In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

It is true that the government place economic growth as the number one priority. In this essay, I will outline the positive and negative impacts this trend has caused. Foremost among these benefits is it provides more job opportunities to local citizens and leads to them a more affluent life. When the government mainly focus on developing economies, it would encourage more companies to start up their business or set up their branches or operations centers, in turn offering more jobs that locals could attain and finally lowing the unemployment rate. What this does is make it potentially absolutely beneficial. For example, in China, the government has prioritized economy for a few decades, creating numerous job opportunities especially for talented people, and this arguably allows them to gain well-paid jobs. However, I think the drawbacks are obvious. Chief among these is it develops at the cost of the environment. If the nations in their progress of economic development, they tend to ignore the negative effects of some industries may cause, and this may well cause damage towards the natural environment. The inner area of China, for instance, depletes the mine to explore foreign countries. As such, mountains and highlands are destroyed and the eco-system is damaged, which is why governments sometimes exchange natural resource for economic growth. In conclusion, there are clear advantages and disadvantages to prioritizing economic growth above all other concerns as I mentioned above.