Many people today use their phones for sending texts more than talking. What are the reasons for this? are there more advantages than disadvatages ?

People are getting busier day by day and the idea of meeting people just to communicate some thoughts, seems an extra effort, hence texting comes as an easy way out. However, it affects the social skills and this does take away the pleasure involved in meeting people and talking. While I think prior has more weightage but it is good to keep up a balance between both. Today messages are the most commonly used method to interact with other people. It has taken up different forms, such as email, informal texting, short message service, multi-media messages etc. Firstly, it is a quick and easy way to talk, it saves time as well as money which can be invested in other tasks, for instance, if a professor is on leave, a small text informing a bunch of students in a WhatsApp group is the most efficient method to adopt. Secondly, texting not only saves you from formal and awkward situations but helps you get throw it smoothly. An employee, for example, will always prefer emailing the manager his resignation rather than talking to him directly. On the other hand, the disadvantages of texting can not be ignored. Texting takes away the ability for humans to interact on day to day basis and it becomes harder to talk directly. As a result, people are getting apart from their own relations and find it hard to tackle the problems. Nevertheless, talking is considered a way to link with other people and bond with them, which helps in making friends and networking with more people. In conclusion, mobiles have changed the idea of communication by making it more efficient via texting. Although texting is highly adopted but talking is essential too and I believe that taking both techniques together is the best approach.