Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The globalization era, with the high advancement of logistics, promotes the forming of some multinational corporations that participate in the lucrative commercial supermarkets. Hence, small and medium local businesses have to compete with foreign enormous capital companies. Some people think that the corollary of the collapse of small businesses is the death of local communities. I firmly believe that local communities will thrive by receiving many benefits from this insane competition. To begin with, small commercial markets, which were operated by indigenous, usually provide the more suitable products based on their surrounding communities due to native people having a mutual understanding of what they want to buy. In particular, small businesses are more recognition of local needs and demands for specific products or services. By communicating with their customers, managers know how many criteria need to be considered to maximise their customers’s satisfaction before providing these to local markets. Managers, with a high level of understanding of their local market, always find cost-effective products and materials sources to give instantly with affordable prices to their consumers, which always ensures fresh fruits and vegetables. However, with the participation of international brand megamalls, which can use their financial capacity to remove their counterparts by supplying a diverse range of commodities at lower prices than the market prices. As a result, local entrepreneurs laid out their employees and closed down their supermarkets, which generated economic strain for the indigenous. Nevertheless, globalisation renders international companies inevitable, which also brings some beneficial returns a certain extent, especially for consumers. In fact, the replacement of local markets by many global megamall brands has created high pressure among international firms in any consumer society. In order to occupy more consumer market shares, businesses need to attract and sustain their own customers by meeting instant their market's demand with fresh products at competitive prices. Consequently, consumers have more choices for a product line from internal and external sources at a diverse range of prices, and individuals will find suitable products for their demands. Besides, large and international businesses provide more job opportunities with more welfare and higher salaries for their employees because their owners have higher regulation standards to ensure their staff's living. Additionally, they also participate in community activities including sponsoring local events and supporting charities, and even doing better than the local businesses did. To conclude, although local markets play an important role in native communities, many global supermarkets can do as well and even do better than local businesses. In order to appeal to more market shares, consumers can buy high-quality products at competitive prices and receive plenty of discounts. The international firms not only promote communities thriving by offering many job positions with higher benefits but also sponsor local activities.