Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reason for this? what are the advantages and disadvantages?

Some people tend to live closer to their birthplace than a far distant unknown place. In my culture, for many generations, this is how people have lived. It is absolutely fine to live closer to your hometown for many reasons to avoid homesick, can enjoy the festivals, and take care of aging parents. First, settling far away from the birthplace is quite intimidating for many. A person who stays far away may started to miss all the homely & cultural vibes, food and sense of belonging. Therefore, at times he may feel homesick. Moreover, staying close to the place where a person has been brought has its numerous advantages. They can participate in cultural programs, enjoy the local delicacies, meet with friends and relatives without giving a second thought. At the end you can take care of your folks who are getting old by being closer to them However, on the other hand it has its own demerits. For example, there would be a constant interfering from all of your friends and family in your personal matters which can easily avoidable by staying far away. Recently, I come across a situation where a couple marriage almost lead to divorce since you'll be under greater influence from these relatives. On top of that, you won't be able to experience different culture, enjoy food and make some new friends. In conclusion, there are pros and cons of different lifestyle. There are people, myself included, who prefer to settle further away from my native place as it makes them more mature, independent and see things from a very different perspective. Therefore, I'd highly advise to go be a wanderlust and get out of your comfort zone.