Nowadays congestion and traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be the solution, in our opinion?

Nowadays, an increasing number of congestion and traffic jams in most cities. However, some people think that constructing wider roads is a solution to this problem. In fact, I firmly disagree with this statement and will examine better solutions for this issue. The begin with, constructing wider roads can not be an effective way to solve congestion and traffic jams because the number of private transport still increases over the years. It will become a temporary solution for the society. The government needs to take a long-term solution. The first solution is limiting the legal age of people who can drive. The government should make strict regulations to handle the age limitation of driving private transport. For instance, people under 20 can not drive the car. By having strict regulations, youngsters can not get their driving license. As a result, the number of transport on the road will fall gradually. The next solution is adding more public transportation. In many cities, there is still a lack of public transportation. Citizens do not have another choice other than using private transportation. Moreover, many people feel stressed because they are stuck too long in traffic jams. For illustration, many workers are late to work because of traffic jams. By increasing the number of public transportation, the government can make better access for people in commuting. The number of people using private vehicles will decrease drastically. Consequently, citizens can save their time in commuting. To sum up, although constructing wider roads can resolve the congestion problems temporarily, it is applying strict regulations and increasing the number of public transportation in solving congestion issues. Therefore, I am strongly convinced that applying strict regulations and increasing the number of public transportation are wise decisions.