Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge. However, despite this, most schools still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Inclusion of different subjects in school curriculum have always been debatable. People believe that hands-on skills are needed based on the current career demands and popularity, despit this, numerous school include academic subjects like history. Children can learn about the evolution, as well keep them associated to their roots, but there are also drawbacks which are hard to be neglect. Firstly, one major benefit posed with inclusion of traditional courses like history, is that students can keep them associated with their roots and cultures. In this increasingly technologically advanced world, this is quite necessary that students and professionals pay gratitude to where we are and how long we came. Secondly, one can understand about the evolution in different specialized domains. For instance, in Electric vehicle revolution, understanding history, such as the advantages and drawbacks of steam revolution help us to reach as this critical juncture for sustainability development and provide base for further research. On the other hand, one major problem related to the inclusion of subjects like social studies and geography has proven to be useless in technologically adavanced world requiring specialized skillsets. For example, in computer era, one needs to be a proficient in the software skills, however, having taught history subject in school can prove to be utterly wasteful, as on internet one can retrieve required history in the matter of minutes. Moreover, this proves to be a wastage of school resources, and students times, which could otherwise be used for following their passion and further sharpening their skillsets. Additionally, subjects to that of social studies in early educational career has proven to be a demotivating factor, which in the long run, making students leave education altogether and get themselves associated with bad habits. In conclusion, although traditional subjects can be helpful, however, the need of a highly vocalized skillsets, along with urgency to avoid wasted time and effort are major drawbacks to be taken into account when going with traditional schooling approach.