In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second hand clothing amongst the younger generation.1. Why is this happening? 2. Do you think its a positive or negative development?

Recently, an increasing number of younger have bought second-hand clothing. The essay explores the reason why the social phenomenon, the popularity of recycling older items of clothing, and gives my opinions and explanations about whether it is a positive or negative development. A compelling reason to explain why second-hand items have become extremely popular amongst younger is that it has a host of merits. Firstly, it is a money-saving method for every individual, because second-hand products definitely are cheaper compared with new ones. Secondly, it obviously ameliorates awareness of the environment for the public. For this reason, it is a recycling process, and it can reduce toxic air during the process of producing new clothing. Namely, it does not need staff who work for recycling companies to collect older clothing and remanufacture new products. Ergo, these attractive advantages are major reasons why its popularity in modern society. It has long been my belief that it will become a positive development in the future. This is because, outside of the two major merits, including money-saving and friendly environment. It also can satisfy a large pool of young citizens' art tastes. Especially, younger who a big fans of nostalgic styles usually like to buy vintage clothing; Therefore, a quite number of second-hand fashion stores are the perfect places where customers can buy these kinds of items. In summation, I am convinced that buying second-hand products has become a constructive development, due to its benefits. Except for two obvious pros, such as cheap price and very environmentally friendly behaviour, it does satisfy everyone's traditional art appreciation of clothing style.