Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many argue that children should be imparted good values, culture and traditions of the community at home whilst a few think that schools are responsible for it. Personally, I am of the opinion that although both play an equal role, being a good citizen starts at one’s home. Home is where education begins. A child, from birth, must be raised in a cultured environment. Babies tend to be very receptive and pickup information from all corners of the house. So, it is very essential for parents to set a good example for their children. They must teach the values and traditions of their society through stories of great men and women in history. For example, Hindu epics like ‘The Ramayana’ and ‘The Mahabharata’ are taught in Indian households as examples for victory of good over evil. I feel that educational institutions also have a role to play in this. Young minds tend to mimic and learn behaviour from those around them. So, as members of an inter-dependent community, teachers must lead by example and show how societies function by helping each other. The school should also organise excursions to charity events, orphanages and old-age homes to inculcate kindness. For instance, missionary schools around the world tend to run by these principles and nurture students into kind humans. In conclusion, although schools help in shaping children’s nature, parents have a responsibility towards the society to produce a good citizen, who is also useful in the community.