Theoretical subjects such as mathematics and philosophy are taught in universities but students prefer more practical subjects such as accounting and computer programming. Some people believe theoretical subjects should be abandoned in universities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, students prioritize more hands-on lectures like accounting and computer programming than focusing on subjects like mathematics and philosophy. It has been argued that the latter has no importance in education and I strongly disagree with the above notion. On one hand, theoretical lessons about math and philosophy act as a backbone for studying effectively. These may have been neglected if we are still in the process of schooling but in real life they really help. Hence, it serves as a strong foundation of content to manage difficult tasks. For instance, we use math on an everyday basis such as what time we do our homework or extracurricular activities. We manage time by numbers so as not to result in being tardy and unproductive. Furthermore, we use philosophy to enhance our critical thinking and decision-making in order to avoid uncertain circumstances. On the other hand, engaging one's self more on accounting and computer programming is a choice but does not really mean to be the only priority pupils should focus. These activities enhance their skills in computers and broaden their knowledge financially through intensive marketing idea, still they cannot suffice alone. For example, figures are widely used in accounting. Thus without these, there is no data for that area. In addition, creating websites and social links comes from the philosophy itself how will you succeed in becoming influential in it. I strongly disagree with abandoning math and philosophy as I believe that these parts are still crucial in our education system. All lessons should have a synergistic effect in order to impart effective and efficient lessons to a learner. Nevertheless, it will not only focus on theory but academically as well. To conclude, every part of the curriculum has its own role to deliver good imparts on good education. Thus, to be given equal importance as they serve a common goal for students' lives.