as most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satsfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers.

Work is a big part of human life and because we spend nearly half of our life working it is vital to receive a positive outcome and be satisfied by what you do. There are many factors and characteristics that determine how satisfied an employee is with his job. Although all people would strive to gain job satisfaction, which is important for human well-being, it is not always possible to achieve due to the individual circumstances and modern working conditions. In my opinion, a minority of employees have job satisfaction because the labour market has become very competitive, and a large number of employers think more about profit rather than the welfare of their workers. But saying that, job satisfaction is not always an area of responsibility of employers and employees must choose a job that will bring them pleasure. Several factors contribute to job satisfaction. Firstly, a high salary is a great index which gives the most positive outcome and plays an important role in the well-being of workers. Consequently, workers truly value their workplaces when they earn enough money to cover all necessary aspects of life such as buying a property, paying all bills and insurance, giving education to children, being able to eat well, caring about their health, etc. Secondly, working hours in most workplaces have increased in the last fifty years and some people do not have enough time for anything except work. It has a negative impact on worker’s well-being. Moreover, a lack of time out of work worsens health. Poor sleep, bad eating habits, no time for family members, absence of sports activities or hobbies all these lead to poor health and as a result to unsatisfaction not only in a job but in life in general. On the other hand, people decide what type of work they should do. In other words they are responsible for their job satisfaction. For example, if an employee does not like a job because of his own reason he always can change a job to achieve satisfaction. In conclusion, job satisfaction is a vital part of human well-being. There are a lot of things that influence that. Not only employers keep responsibility for the welfare of employees. People always can change the work environment in order to gain satisfaction from what they do.