International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

As access to cheaper travelling becomes more available, the question of whether the benefits of international tourism outweigh its downfalls is raised. This essay will shed light on both sides of the matter. Tourism has undoubtedly become an important source of income for many countries. Specifically by generating revenue through accommodation, transportation, dining, and entertainment. Thus creating job opportunities and business growth. Moreover, this trend has generated a necessity for better infrastructures like roads, airports, and public facilities. Consequently, travellers and local residents benefit from these improvements by an overall better quality of life. Furthermore, the interaction between members of different cultures can promote understanding and appreciation for their heritages. On the other hand, popular destinations, like San Positano in Italy, often face issues of overcrowding leading to wear and tear on infrastructures and services. As a result, locals may find it difficult to live their normal lives during peak tourist seasons. On top of that, a plane is one of the most polluting means of transportation, releasing large amounts of carbon dioxide and other gases into the atmosphere, having a significant impact on the climate system. In addition, being extremely reliable on international tourism can make a country highly vulnerable to economic downturns, natural disasters, and health crises, like Covid-19. In conclusion, although the massification of international travelling has a considerable impact on the infrastructures, the environment, and vulnerability to crisis, it greatly improves a country's economy, quality of living and cultural awareness. Hence, the positive effects of tourism prevail over its downturns.