Some people think the government should spend more money on sport facilities for top athletes. Other people think the government should spend more money on sport facilities for everybody. Discuss both views

There is an underlying assumption that as much as possible should be spent on sport centres and arenas for the only best athletes. On the contrary, it is logical to conclude that sport facilities should be developed for everyone. In this essay I am going to explain further these both types of view. First and foremost, it is formally acknowledged that authorities should spend a huge sum of money on new sports facilities for their top specialists in sports, due to the fact that it gives them a chance for the national sport to be popularized. For the time being, the Olympic games are the most popular sport event around the globe. If the country wants to participate in such an event, it will train only the best of the best. To be more precise, if an athlete won a gold, silver or bronze medal in the competition, it would have to be like a national holiday, especially because it is important for small countries, consequently this county will have a "known face" in the International arena. On the other hand, it is considered by many that huge sport centres, gyms and local sport sections are important for everyone. Therefore, funds have to be spent not only for people who choose sport as a profession, but also for citizens. To take a more direct approach, if the government wants to raise the best athletes, sport has to be famous for everyone, hence money ought to be invested in local communities. The main reason for this approach is that young talented sportsmen are being found and the best way to do it is for the local sports facilities to be built. Moreover, it gives important opportunities for elder people to keep fit. In conclusion, it depends on what goals each government wants to achieve. To date, due to the aforementioned if authorities want to play a crucial role in International sport events it will be a good way for money to be spent, but in the modern world spending funds on such things should be balanced.