12.Many young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in natural environments. Why? How can they be encouraged to go out?

It is argued that the young generations tend to spend less time on outdoor activities, such as hiking and climbing. The main reason for this is the addiction that they have on the internet, and a possible solution could be the organization of external activities. Technology is the main cause why people prefer to stay at home. This is because they can sit down, relax and do what they like, with no need to be tired because of doing exercise. Video games allow individuals to rest and at the same time have fun with their friends., Also it is easier for young people to decide what to do, since doing outdoor activities they are not sure if they will like it and it might be a waste of time. According to recent studies, the majority of young people have a tendency to use their free time inside of the house playing computer games or using social media platforms. This situation can be improved by encouraging schools and families to organize activities such as camping with original games and competitions, asking more children to participate together, so the kids can make new friends and also spend time in nature, so after a certain time they would prefer doing open-air activities. For example, schools in Spain organize different activities such as hiking, skiing, summer camp and final course trips, so the students can practice different activities, enjoy the environment and know new people. In conclusion, young people do not spend time doing outdoor activities because of are addicted to using technology. However, parents and schools can get children involved in other hobbies by getting them used to being outside.