It is responsiblitity of individuals to save and provide for their own retirement. Governments have no obligation to provide this benefit. To what extend do you agree or disagree with these statements ?

There is a responsibility for workers people to save for their retirement scheme as the authorities do not have the obligation to provide for this benefit. I do not agree with the latter statement because from my perspective the government should provide a state pension for those who are working their whole life. On the one hand, it is true people are being forced to save money for their own retirement because the government pension is not enough to cover their basic needs. As a consequence, employers enrol their employees on private plan pensions to make sure their employees receive a pension in the future. This is a good alternative for working-class people because otherwise it will be impossible to save money for the future as the cost of living is quite high nowadays and a good salary is hard to get. On the other hand, the government should make sure that people get a minimum pension to survive regardless if they have work or not. Getting a pension is a right for citizens which can not be denied by the government. Besides, those countries with a good plan of pension provide security and peace of mind to people who go to work every day. So, I believe that the government need to be responsible for the pensions as a lot of tax are paid to them. In conclusion, workers are struggling to save some money to survive in the future due to the lack of help by the authorities when it comes to pensions. I believe that, the approach by the government is intolerant and something has to be done to change this fact.