Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

As time goes by, people tend to consume processed food which contains very high levels of sugar. This does not only apply to youngsters, sadly. It is agreed that cuisines and beverages which contain much sugar in them must be made more expensive. Analysing how sugars affect the cognitive system of youngsters, as well as the long-term effect on elders will prove this idea. First, consuming sugary products on a daily basis for youngsters may cause them to have a condition called sugar rush. Sugar rush is a condition in which those who have consumed sugary food will most likely be more active than before and will find it hard to sleep. Likewise, after the sugar intake, the blood will be filled with sugar causing the youngsters to easily forget the lessons the teacher taught them in class. This phenomenon happens because sugar is relatively cheap on the market, thus the sellers will sell more sugary products than others. Therefore, it makes it clear that marking up the sugar price will be one of the solutions to make people consume less sugar. Second, diabetes has been a widely known health issue since forever. For instance, there are approximately more than 50% of adults in Indonesia have diabetes. This is the implication of the lower price of sugar in Indonesia in contrast to other countries since this country is one of the big exporters of sugar in the world. Thus, it will be feasible to add up to the price of sugar to reduce the number of diabetic patients especially in Indonesia. To conclude, making the price of sugar commodity higher can be one of the measurements to reduce health problems. I agree that reducing the price will result in a rise in the health quality of the people. After a thorough analysis of the subject, it is recommended that the government make a policy which regulates the maximum number of sugar components in beverages and foods which are sold in the markets.