An increasing number of children are overweight which could result many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and healtg care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

The issue of childhood obesity is on the rise and it is of great concern as these may pose health challenges as they grow older. This essay seeks to look at the causes of overweight in children and some proposed solutions to curb the situation at hand. There are a number of possible causes linked to overweight in children. Firstly, the advent of cars is a major contributory factor to a sedentary lifestyle.To illustrate this, it is common these days to see most parents drive their children to school where they sit for long periods during class hours. For a typical daily routine in most teaching institutions in Ghana, the maximum time without academic lessons is 40 mins out of the entire 8-hour period most pupils spend at school. It is obvious from this that there isn't much time allowable for students to walk around or play as most of them will probably grasp a meal or use the washroom during this break time period. Also, consumption of fast food is on the rise among the youth. Modern lifestyle is busy, making it difficult for mothers to cook and leaving parents with no choice but to give their wards money for lunch and supper. Children like palatable meals.Most fast-food joints know this and as a result sell meals that look tasty but are mostly termed unhealthy as they are made for the taste. Such foods are high in cholesterol and fat which are known to contribute to gaining excess weight. Finally, most of these obese children are from affluent homes where they own electronic devices which enable them to play one video game after the other with very minimal movement from one place to another during these gaming periods. In spite of the above problems, there are several solutions that could be employed to overcome the problem of overweight in children. To begin with, parents who drive their wards to school should endeavour to drop them off a few blocks from the school building so they walk. Walking is said to burn fat and undoubtedly can help with the issue of obesity. Another factor worth considering is, mothers could adopt bulk cooking habits at home over the weekends. This will make relatively healthy food available for their children to consume. Most home-cooked foods are of high nutritional value and mostly balanced. Lastly, children should be encouraged to engage in outdoor gaming activities with their neighbours after school rather than playing games on electronic gadgets. This will afford them some opportunity to be active.