In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In certain territories, teenagers are prompted to do a profession or mobilize for around twelve month period once they end up the secondary school and before beginning tertiary education. This will have both pros and cons to be considered. As positive developments we can see that it is a great opportunity for students to refresh themselves and have a good kick start to their university life whereas if not utilized wisely it will be a waste of time and affect the momentum of studies adversely. Firstly, the several years of primary and upper school education brings about exhaustion among the pupils that they are unable to relax themselves in order to gain a greater energy before they commence with higher studies. Secondly, as they have to switch to self-study mode and studying through research which need a level of maturity to be developed, students can make use of this period to develop that skill within them. For example, there is an educational policy formulated by US government to get a compulsory break after high school education before children start with university education. In contrast, there are students who lose their focus during that period and are being affected by the bad influence of their friends such as drug addiction. Hence that period is useless. Moreover, educational life needs immense focus and concentration in order to get in to Join the words into show examples higher scores in examinations which will be disturbed due to the break consumed in the middle of studies life. Thus the momentum suffers through this. In conclusion, to calm down the mind and refuel the energy to study, it is of a significant importance to work or travel in between secondary and tertiary education whereas underutilization of that time could lead to turn the students’ lives in to Join the words into show examples pessimistic aspects.