Some people think that the government is responsible for looking after the elderly. Others believe that it should be family members. Who do you think should take responsibility?

In developed nations, the ageing demographic phenomenon has made parental care become costly in a materialist society as more burdens have been put on the shrinking workforce’s shoulders, which led to a general belief in some people that the government should take care of their elderly citizens. However, I still believe that adults should look after their children ’s grandparents. To begin with, there are many reasons to support the stance that this is the government's responsibility from proponents. Firstly, many elderly people, who have paid taxes to the public finances, require specialised services that their families cannot provide. The proliferation reason is some poverty families do not have the extra finances available to provide enough living standards for a model citizen, who has sacrificed for their community and deserves to receive a better materialistic life, such as a scientist or a teacher. For example, in some poverty families, adult workforces have to go to their workplaces to cover their family’s basic demands, so no one at home to provide the necessary assistance to their relatives. The additional case is some families are not trained to take care of the elderly, because nursing centres were structured to provide some indispensable special assistance and responsibility, whose employees and nurses were trained professionally. The last factor is providing free nursing institutions would improve the quality of life and enhance the national image in foreign countries. Nevertheless, there is never allowed to omit some justifiable reasons from the opponents. Clearly, children should look after their parents due to senior members have cultivated their children to become useful citizens and cover almost all expenditures relevant to their offspring. Hence, caring about parents is a chance for children to express their filial piety to their seniors. Additionally, retirement homes could provide support but not the love, which the elderly need because being surrounded by familiar objects and relatives could help the elderly thrive better, particularly in woolgathering citizens or some Alzheimer patients. This can be explained that children's care is superior to nursing institutions in some aspects because offspring would give special care to their parents, such as providing their preferred dishes and taking meticulous heal to supply their seniors trivial demands, which is based on mutual understanding from long-term interaction. Lastly, family members should back one another whatever the situation and the way they receive aid from others. To conclude, although some justifiable reasons from the proponents include financial capacities and the elderly’s contributions to society, I still believe that caring at home is better than in senior centres as parents could interact with their family members rather than strangers.