Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

Lately, many youngsters are influenced into making decisions due to peer pressure. I unequivocally believe that the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages in two circumstances. Firstly, a lot of mental health issues have been caused due to increased peer pressure. Secondly, drug usage is at an all-time high among teenagers due to constant peer pressure. In recent times, due to technological advancements in almost all fields, many are faced with unemployment. Therefore, in order to survive, one must be the best at what they do. Hence, students in schools and colleges across the world are faced with academic peer pressure to be the best at their courses. In order to survive this dog-eat-dog world, students have given up their peace and mental health in exchange for good grades. For instance, in India, the suicide rate among school students has skyrocketed by 15% since last year, due to an increase in competition which has led to many feeling inadequate. Similarly, in order to cope with pressure, students start using drugs. However, it does not stop there. Many youngsters have started promoting it and forcing it on others. In spite of students learning the downside of using drugs, many take the chance of consuming it just so they wouldn't be bullied. For example, 70% of college students in India have smoked at least once due to peer pressure. In conclusion, although peer pressure does push a person to become better, there are darker consequences that young people face when the pressure gets blown out of proportion. Mental health issues and drug abuse are two consequences of the ever-growing peer pressure.